Shutterstock Image ID: 1065041339;

Rock Hall of Fame Announces 2020 Induction Class

Prepare for the annual complaining of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

No one ever really wins when it comes to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

Sure, bands are inducted each year. Some you’ll like, some you won’t. The only guarantee we have is that people will complain.

The Inducted Class of 2020:

  • T. Rex
  • The Doobie Brothers
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • Whitney Houston
  • The Notorious B.I.G.
  • Depeche Mode

The nominees who were snubbed:

  • Pat Benatar
  • Dave Matthews Band
  • Judas Priest
  • Kraftwerk
  • MC5
  • Motörhead
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Soundgarden
  • Thin Lizzy

Some notable takeaways (bitching talking points):

  • This marks the 1st time since the creation of “The Fan Vote” that the fan vote winner was not inducted.
    • Dave Matthews Band won the fan vote by a large margin.
    • In fact, of the top 5 vote-getters than comprised the “fan ballot”, only one of those bands was selected to be inducted.
      • Dave Matthews Band
      • Pat Benetar
      • Doobie Brothers
      • Soundgarden
      • Judas Priest
  • Of the 6 inductees, only 3.5 of them are considered to be in the “Rock” genre. (The .5 going to Depeche Mode, we felt generous).
  • Of the nominees, MC5 has been eligible longest for induction longest.

In the end, it’s important to understand that you’ll never be 100% satisfied with the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Once you accept this, you’ll find that they’re just not worth the energy.